Planning Board


  • 9:00 a.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of each month
  • Municipal Complex*
    5401 S Croatan Highway
    Board Room
    Nags Head, NC 27959
  • *Meetings will be held virtually until further notice; please find information on accessing the Zoom platform for the meeting in the meeting agenda.

The next meeting of the Planning Board will be held on Tuesday, March 16, 2021 at 9:00 AM via the Zoom Platform. Please see the agenda for further details.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Agendas and Minutes


  • Megan Vaughan, Chair
  • Kristi Wright, Vice Chair
  • David Elder
  • Megan Lambert
  • Meade Gwinn
  • Gary Ferguson
  • Molly Harrison

Email Planning Board Members at


The Planning Board is an advisory board comprised of citizens of Nags Head appointed by the Board of Commissioners for three-year terms. They review site plans, subdivision plats, conditional use applications, and all amendments relating to zoning. They then make recommendations to the Board of Commissioners on their findings.

  1. Michael Zehner

    Planning & Development Director
    Phone: 252-449-6044

  2. Kelly Wyatt

    Deputy Director of Planning & Development / Zoning
    Phone: 252-449-6042